In the beginning…

So this is it, the first blog post.  I could try to come up with something really witty and astute, but I’m having trouble with that.  So this is what you get instead.

So what’s it all about? I’m hoping Develop North will document my opinions, (mis)adventures, rants, and learnings on trying be a lone software developer in a rural area.  I came up with the name “Develop North” for two reasons:  1) I live in Upstate New York and went to a college about as far north in New York State as you can go before you’re in Canada, and 2) it’s supposedly a clever tie to the name of my software company, Cynosure Software (cynosure means something that acts as a guide; it can mean the North Star or Ursa Minor.  Go ahead, look it up in the dictionary…I’ll wait).

I have a day job as a Systems Analyst for a Fortune 500 company as well as my company.  In both jobs, I’m the single application developer guy which presents its own set of challenges.  I’m hoping to document (and rant about) some of those challenges, things I’ve learned, things that tick me off, and anything else that comes to mind.

So I hope you stick around as I embrace the blogger lifestyle and I look forward to conversations with everyone.

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous

3 Comments on “In the beginning…”

  1. Letta Says:

    This is really cool…I have always wanted to make a blog, but…guess I need a kick in the butt to get one started. GREAT JOB


  2. so you’ve finally joined bloggerland! good on you! you’ll find you end up posting every day after awhile LOL

    http://tristanrobin.blogspot.com

  3. Donna Says:

    Well, cool! I was thinking theater blog myself but realized I have nothing truly significant to blog about. Although that doesn’t seem to stop some people out there… And I really don’t even know how to start one. I look forward to checking back.


Leave a Reply

