When The Going Gets Tough…

As I have mentioned before, I have a full time day job. I’m the IT person for a manufacturing plant. I’m not responsible for the PC’s, servers, and network, but everything else is my responsibility. Part of that includes our ERP system…not SAP. It’s a smallish ERP system made for our industry type and it’s built on the Progress database engine. I know SQL and Progress is most definitely NOT SQL in it’s native setup.

Since I got assigned responsibility for this application two years ago, I have been asking for training in Progress. There are no books you can read (at least I can’t find any), your only choice is a training class or a web class. Either way, you have to pay.

Last year, I wasn’t allowed to go because I was working on a critical project..so critical, it was cancelled a month later. When the next Progress courses were offered, I couldn’t go because of a travel freeze – although others continued to go. I asked about getting the web classes since that wouldn’t require travel and…nothing happened.

So I ask AGAIN, this time for web only. I get the OK, but there doesn’t seem to be any money now. However, someone else in my group (non IT) talked to the Plant Manager and will be going for not one, but two ELECTIVE classes.

So what do you do?
a) Pretend you don’t know and don’t make any waves. The economy is bad – you want to keep your job.

b) Layout your feelings and try to understand the seeming illogic behind it.

c) Rant and rave and make a big stink.

I’m planning to try to to avoid C)  – although I have to tell you that on Friday, I might very well have done that. I avoided my manager because I was afraid that if I said anything, I might regret it.

Tomorrow though I have to address this. It feels to me like IT has no value whatsoever to the organization based on what has happened in terms of resources and assignments. This just seemed to confirm that to me. I’m going to stand up for myself and tell them how I feel. I’m not sure it’s going to do any good (and if pass performance holds true, this will come up in a negative way in my performance review), but to quote R.E.O. Speedwagon, “I can’t fight this feeling any longer”.

Look, I knew that IT would never be REALLY important to the manufacturing plant, but I figured wouldn’t be least important. I don’t know how this is going to play out, but I’ll keep you posted. Wish me luck when I talk to my manager on Monday…

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “When The Going Gets Tough…”


  1. […] Develop North Musings on software development and life in a rural setting « When The Going Gets Tough… […]


Leave a Reply

